Title: Woody Austin given 4-stroke penalty

Description: ROCHESTER, N.Y. -- Woody Austin incurred a four-stroke penalty Friday at the PGA Championship after realizing he had 15 clubs in his bag during the second round. Austin, 49, a four-time winner on the PGA Tour, was in violation of Rule 4-4 for exceeding the 14-club limit. The penalty is two strokes for each hole where the breach occurred, up to a four-stroke limit. Austin added two strokes to his score for the first and second holes and ended up with a 75 to finish at 4 over par, likely missing the 36-hole cut. SportsNation: Too many clubs? SportsNation Woody Austin received a 4-stroke penalty at the PGA Championship for having too many clubs. Is this fair? Vote! He had forgotten to take a 21-degree hybrid out of his bag but didn't notice it because of the rain cover over his clubs to keep them dry. Austin and his caddie Dave Lawson began the round in the rain. "It's not his fault; it's my fault as much as his fault," Austin said. "It's both our jobs. It's just one of those things, if it wasn't raining, we would have caught it. But you've got the rain cover over everything and you're worrying about the towels and whatever, so you don't see it. "But if we would have been on the first tee on a normal day, clubs sitting there, you would have seen it. It's such a bulky club, you wouldn't have missed it. It doesn't have a head cover on it or anything. We would have caught it immediately. But the fact that you have got your clubs completely covered, I never saw it until I dug in there for the 3 iron on No. 3, and there it was." Austin, who won the Sanderson Farms Championship three weeks ago, shot a first-round 69 and would have made the cut easily without the four-stroke penalty. He did make two birdies on the front side and another on the back nine but his bogey at the 18th ultimately proved costly. "Can't say I was angry, because it was more, I don't know, it was more of a shock, so you're kind of like pretty bummed," Austin said. "I think after 20 years, you do one stupid thing ... and that's the first time I've ever done something like that. Now all I've got to do is figure out how to get DQ'd."

Link: http://espn.go.com/golf/pgachampionship13/story/_/id/9553370/pga-championship-woody-austin-given-4-stroke-penalty-extra-club